The Wikipedia Review: A forum for discussion and criticism of Wikipedia
Wikipedia Review Op-Ed Pages

Welcome, Guest! ( Log In | Register )

> Help

This forum is for discussing specific Wikipedia editors, editing patterns, and general efforts by those editors to influence or direct content in ways that might not be in keeping with Wikipedia policy. Please source your claims and provide links where appropriate. For a glossary of terms frequently used when discussing Wikipedia and related projects, please refer to Wikipedia:Glossary.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Gohe - Whohe?, but he has uploaded 25,000 porn stars
Peter Damian
post Sat 25th February 2012, 10:07am
Post #1


I have as much free time as a Wikipedia admin!
*********

Group: Regulars
Posts: 4,400
Joined: Tue 18th Dec 2007, 9:25pm
Member No.: 4,212

WP user page - talk
check - contribs



Is this some kind of record? This guy http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/User:Gohe007 has uploaded more than 25,000 pictures of 'porn actresses' to the Commons. Who is he and why does he do this? What has this to do with bringing sum of human knowledge to every person on the planet?

The pictures all seem to have been taken from a website by Luke Ford, now defunct. Who he? What is all this for?

Ah I see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Luke_Ford

This post has been edited by Peter Damian: Sat 25th February 2012, 10:13am
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lilburne
post Sat 25th February 2012, 11:44am
Post #2


Chameleon
*****

Group: Contributors
Posts: 890
Joined: Thu 17th Jun 2010, 11:42am
Member No.: 21,803

WP user page - talk
check - contribs



QUOTE

Ford has suffered from chronic fatigue syndrome, which kept him bedridden for a time in his 20s


Ehm Ehm! I think the bedridden 20s thing might have been caused by something other the CFS (Portnoy's complaint perhaps). Although cumming to think about it ...

This post has been edited by lilburne: Sat 25th February 2012, 11:45am
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SB_Johnny
post Sat 25th February 2012, 12:41pm
Post #3


It wasn't me who made honky-tonk angels
*******

Group: Regulars
Posts: 2,128
Joined: Mon 15th Sep 2008, 3:10pm
Member No.: 8,272

WP user page - talk
check - contribs



QUOTE(Peter Damian @ Sat 25th February 2012, 5:07am) *

And the theory is that that article is not written by a PR rep? laugh.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Peter Damian
post Sat 25th February 2012, 1:09pm
Post #4


I have as much free time as a Wikipedia admin!
*********

Group: Regulars
Posts: 4,400
Joined: Tue 18th Dec 2007, 9:25pm
Member No.: 4,212

WP user page - talk
check - contribs



QUOTE(SB_Johnny @ Sat 25th February 2012, 12:41pm) *

QUOTE(Peter Damian @ Sat 25th February 2012, 5:07am) *

And the theory is that that article is not written by a PR rep? laugh.gif


It is scarcely believable that all those links to crappy sites are allowed to stand, whereas links to a medieval Latin website are blacklisted. Or is it?

This post has been edited by Peter Damian: Sat 25th February 2012, 1:09pm
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Fusion
post Sat 25th February 2012, 10:24pm
Post #5


Senior Member
****

Group: Contributors
Posts: 346
Joined: Tue 29th Nov 2011, 12:40pm
Member No.: 71,526



Hmm. I picked a recent picture at random which turned out to be not pornographic

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Pep...012_%281%29.jpg

but it was taken lat month from Flickr allegedly under a CC licence confirmed by File Upload Bot (Magnus Manske).

http://www.flickr.com/photos/chiropractic/6756056431/

It is now "All rights reserved". How reliable is this bot, and if it is right why was the licence changed?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lilburne
post Sat 25th February 2012, 11:11pm
Post #6


Chameleon
*****

Group: Contributors
Posts: 890
Joined: Thu 17th Jun 2010, 11:42am
Member No.: 21,803

WP user page - talk
check - contribs



QUOTE(Fusion @ Sat 25th February 2012, 10:24pm) *

Hmm. I picked a recent picture at random which turned out to be not pornographic

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Pep...012_%281%29.jpg

but it was taken lat month from Flickr allegedly under a CC licence confirmed by File Upload Bot (Magnus Manske).

http://www.flickr.com/photos/chiropractic/6756056431/

It is now "All rights reserved". How reliable is this bot, and if it is right why was the licence changed?



The photogs default upload is CC-BY-SA but the photos from two events were re-set to ARR. This was done after they uploaded maybe because they had a chance of selling some of the content, or they were doing it as a paid contract and forgot to reset the license, or maybe they worked out that the content was being scrapped. Which ever way it was the bot is probably correct that they were at one point CC-BY-SA.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

-   Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th 5 13, 8:59am