Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: "I am Wikipedian," says Skinny87
> Wikimedia Discussion > General Discussion
Skinny87
I am a wikipedia editor, here me cry!

I will not deny that wikipedia has many problems, some more severe than others, though I'm not really familiar with any of them in any great detail. Why is that? Because I am a simple editor for wikipedia, and I want to speak out for the silent majority (well, hopefully, here's hoping this doesn't sound like some right-wing political rally) of users on wikipedia. I am not a 'wikipedo', I am not a 'wikipediot', although I do admit the latter is rather catchy.

All I do is edit articles, and not even contentious ones at that; I focus on WWII military history mainly. Sometimes I revert vandalism, and I've voted in various XFD areas. And I'm not pretending to be perfect; look through my contributions and I'm sure you'll find some that are less than perfect. But all I do is edit non-contentious articles, make no real fuss, and just contribute to trying to improve my small area of wikipedia; for me, it's a hobby. And I'd like to think I speak for a majority of silent wikipedia editors, who do the same. Yes, there are vandals, trools and people who have worrying/damaging agendas, but I don't think the majority of us are.

I'd just like this to be a plea, to the more jaded members of this community in particular, to remember us before using 'wikipediot' or 'wikipedo' in a thread; to me, at least, that's not what the majority of us are. We're just beavering away, trying to improve wikipedia. Perhaps not successfully, but at least we're trying.
JohnA
Welcome to WR!

You realise of course that one of the reasons you are here is because you can speak about Wikipedia freely in a way you can't on Wikipedia?

Wikipedians coming here is usually the first stage of a process in which they are fighting a losing battle with themselves.
dogbiscuit
QUOTE(Skinny87 @ Thu 22nd January 2009, 8:39am) *