Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Winner of best photo in Wikipedia has many more - EITB
> Media Forums > News Worth Discussing
Newsfeed
http://www.eitb.com/news/society/detail/17...-has-many-more/

Wikipedia users had no doubt: Horses on Bianditz Mountain was the best photo of 2008. A computer programmer by profession, Mikel Ortega immortalises the smallest of moments. See his best photos. A reflection of Merida theatre, captured by Mikel Ortega

thekohser
No mention that the winning photo was digitally altered, quite dramatically, before submission for the prize.
anthony
QUOTE(thekohser @ Wed 17th June 2009, 2:04pm) *

No mention that the winning photo was digitally altered, quite dramatically, before submission for the prize.

Well...

The prize hasn't changed his life, but it has allowed him to demonstrate an important lesson: "there is merit in me capturing the image, but then anybody can change it and distribute it. That's the real newsflash, the combination of efforts."

there's actually a celebration of the ability to digitally alter photos.

I can see where Mr. Ortega is coming from, and I don't think there was anything at all wrong with what Mr. Ortega did. What was definitely wrong was putting the altered photo in an encyclopedia without any indication that it was altered, and what was arguably wrong was the setup of Wikimedia Commons in a way that encourages it.
Kato
A few months back, I had similar concerns about Durova's "restoration project".

QUOTE(Kato @ Thu 26th March 2009, 2:19pm) *

Durova has been shouting from the rooftops about the value of her picture "Restoration Project" on Wikicommons. This seems to the latest fad, and a way for Wiki busybodies to assert their importance and exclusivity. Durova has assembled a group around her she self importantly terms "Restorationists". And these people go about acquiring old pictures and "touching them up" for public consumption on either the commons, or Wikipedia.