Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Wikipedia raises 20 million dollars
> Wikimedia Discussion > General Discussion
Wikifan
source

Barely two million is spent on hosting on the website according to WMF's annual report - pg 34

meanwhile, over 9 million dollars was spent on salaries, and 2.3 million spend on "external contractors." wtf is that?

thekohser
QUOTE(Wikifan @ Tue 3rd January 2012, 10:47pm) *

wtf is that?

It's what I've been telling you since August 2007.
timbo
QUOTE(thekohser @ Tue 3rd January 2012, 10:26pm) *

wtf is that?

>>10. Wikipedia is dead. Citizendium; Answers; Ability of anyone to fork

If so, you're only batting .500.

t
Wikifan
QUOTE(thekohser @ Wed 4th January 2012, 6:26am) *

wtf is that?

so now your pimping your own site? i just saw this now after being bombarded with requests for free money. honestly - where does this money go? like, who are these "external contractors?"

and the 20 million was funded in like three months, not a whole year. just three months of fundraising.

so 18 million to spend between 75 employees (subtracting hosting costs).
Cla68
QUOTE(Wikifan @ Wed 4th January 2012, 9:54am) *

QUOTE(thekohser @ Wed 4th January 2012, 6:26am) *

wtf is that?

so now your pimping your own site? i just saw this now after being bombarded with requests for free money. honestly - where does this money go? like, who are these "external contractors?"

and the 20 million was funded in like three months, not a whole year. just three months of fundraising.

so 18 million to spend between 75 employees (subtracting hosting costs).