Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Circumvent Wikimedia Spam Blacklist
Wikipedia Review > Wikimedia Discussion > General Discussion
Lir
if you want to insert a url that's been blocked by the wikimedia spam blacklist, then

instead of insert a url like http://www.kapitalism.net/
insert it as http://www.kapit<!-- -->alism.net/

now you can insert any url into wikipedia page you want even if it's in the spam blacklist.
Blu Aardvark
Hmm. Who wants to place a bet on how long it will be until the developers fix this bug?
Selina
Well, we know Jimbo reads the forum - en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Talk:John_Seigenthaler_Sr._Wikipedia_biography_controversy?diff=prev&oldid=38504820 - not too far to guess that some developers probably do too.
Blu Aardvark
It was reported to bugzilla yesterday, by Mark Pellegrini. Bug 5185 - normal priority, major bug. Now that it's been posted here, however, I think it likely that it will be given a higher priority, judging by the fact that the Cabal believes us to be a troll board.
Selina
Maybe they're going by Anarchopedia's definition, http://meta.anarchopedia.org/index.php/Trolls :
QUOTE
The word troll is applied to many diverse heretics, dissidents, and other disagreers in various contexts. They seem to reject joining social clubs and accepting group-defined concepts of politeness. It isn't clearly why, but, trolls sometimes say they are engaged in a battle of "empathy" *against* "eloquence" - the latter being an attribute of liars, frauds, con men, cheaters, politicians, and artificial intelligence.

[...]

Usually the label troll simply indicates that someone considers them pests or usurpers. They do not usually fit clearly as part of any clique or group of "friends" or "enemies", but often just deny any goal but truth. They are a faction by default, only because they do not clearly identify with any other faction or accept any other guidance.


smile.gif


By the way, I've received reports that people have been blanking pages on Anarchopedia and replacing them with the URL here... I and I hope no other admins endorse this. Checking it out myself it seems to have stopped, but please, whover it is if you see this don't continue. Yes, even if it is Willy on Wheels or whoever, we're plenty known enough don't worry wink.gif Good intentions possibly but yeah, please stop.
blissyu2
I dunno. Its kind of like the Sean Black thing. Its just as likely to have been done by someone trying to promote the board as someone like Malber trying to destroy it.
Selina
If I thought it was being done to try "destroy the board" I wouldn't have bothered asking to stop because it obviously wouldn't have any effect on the wiki-trolls wink.gif
blissyu2
Anyway, I don't think its worth worrying too much about. Its not likely to hurt the board, or help it too much in the end.
ownage
It's been 1 month, and the bug is still not fixed.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.